New York
– The winners of the 14th annual Webby Awards were announced on Tuesday by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, with
special achievement awards bestowed on film critic Roger Ebert and Internet
pioneer Vint Cerf. Ebert was named Webby Person of the Year, having taken to
the Internet following his battle with cancer; other special awards were given
to comedian Amy Poehler (Best Actress) and OK Go, a band whose viral videos
garnered them the Artist of the Year award.

Twitter was named the best social
networking site, while Foursquare took the award for best mobile social
networking service.

The New York Times and College Humor both received five

The live awards ceremony, where winners will deliver their traditional
five-words-long acceptance speeches, will be held on June 14 in New York and hosted by
B.J. Novak, of NBC’s “The Office.”


Related Links: