The Visual Effects Society (VES) has re-elected Jeffrey A. Okun, head of visual effects for Prana Studios, for a fourth one-year term as Board Chair. He and other officers were announced Thursday by VES executive director Eric Roth.

Okun said he was excited to continue his service promoting visual effects and the artists who create them. He added that he particularly was looking forward to pushing forward VES’ initiative “to reach out and bring all parties to the table to secure rights and benefits for our industry – across the board – in film, broadcast, special venue, commercials, games and animation.”

Roth said he looked forward to continuing his relationship with Okun, adding that the visual effects guru is “is an extraordinarily talented gentleman with a bottomless passion for visual effects and the VES while being uniquely suited to be the voice of the entertainment industry’s defining resource for our craft.”

The numerous films Okun is known for include Stargate (1994), Deep Blue Sea (1999), The Last Samurai (2003), The Day the Earth Stood Still (2008), and most recently Catherine Hardwicke’s Red Riding Hood (2011). He also is the author of breakdown, budgeting and tracking software currently being used by professionals throughout the industry, and has created several techniques used in many of today’s films.

Other board officers elected by the VES members are: first vice chair – Michael Fink, visual effects supervisor; second vice chair – Pam Hogarth, Director of Marketing, Look Effects; Treasurer – Bob Coleman, president, Digital Artists Agency; and secretary – Kim Lavery, VFX Producer.

VES is the entertainment industry’s only official organization representing the extended community of visual effects practitioners including supervisors, artists, producers, technology developers, educators and studio executives. Its over 2,500 global members contribute to all areas of entertainment from film, television and commercials to music videos, games and new media.

Related links:

Jeffrey A. Okun –

Michael Fink –

Pam Hogarth –

Bob Coleman –

Kim Lavery –