The Technology CEO Council has named Michael Dell, chairman and CEO of Dell, as chairman of the public policy advocacy group. He replaces Samuel J. Palmisano, chairman and CEO of IBM, who completed his 2-year term and remains on the council. It’s a familiar place for Dell, since he previously served as the group’s chairman from 2001 to 2003.

The group of CEOs was created in 1989 to advance policies to promote innovation and U.S. competitiveness through technology leadership. They regularly meet with Washington D.C. policymakers to discuss challenges facing the country and the role technology and the high-tech industry can play in helping solve them.

“At this time of economic uncertainty and challenges, it’s more important than ever that the business community work closely with elected leaders and policymakers to help our economy grow and prosper and create jobs for Americans,” said Dell.

In addition to Dell and Palmisano, the Technology CEO Council includes: Steven R. Appleton, chairman and CEO of Micron Technology Inc.; Greg Brown, chairman and CEO of Motorola Solutions Inc.; Ursula M. Burns, chairman and CEO of Xerox Corp.; Paul S. Otellini, president and CEO of Intel Corp.; Michael R. Splinter, chairman, president and CEO of Applied Materials Inc.; and Joseph M. Tucci, chairman, president and CEO of EMC Corp.